A friend of mine got an email yesterday supposedly from PayPal asking him to update his customer information …

It seemed to be legitimate - all the links seemed to point to PayPal, until he viewed the email’s source code (yes you can do that) … and found something different …

[p]To update your PayPal records click on the following link:[br /]

[a href="http://www.paypal.com/us/"][table][tr][td]

[a href="http://latino.no/languages/paypal/das676bsda6gwcv7zfcwfcwf34gfw
f23g235f134f3fg3f&bhdfahva685hwseBayISAPI.dllPayment
Landing&ssPageName=hhpayUSf&=userhgads&secure&ssl7r2vbd7d88klmnog
h1.htm"]http://www.paypal.com/us/

[/a]

[/td][/tr][/table][/a]

[/p]

(I’ve replaced all the “< " and ">” so the code displays)

As you can see there’s a URL to a “latino.no” - which is obviously nothing to do with PayPal …

So, be careful … spoof emails don’t always ask for you to change a password, it might be something subtle like “updating your information” …

If in doubt, either contact the company or just ignore it …

Don’t thank me, thank Ed for telling us about it …

Cheers

Nick :)

Share and Enjoy: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • blinkbits
  • BlinkList
  • blogmarks
  • co.mments
  • connotea
  • del.icio.us
  • digg
  • Fark
  • Furl
  • Ma.gnolia
  • NewsVine
  • Reddit
  • scuttle
  • Shadows
  • Simpy
  • Spurl
  • YahooMyWeb
  • Google
  • MisterWong
  • MisterWong.DE
  • Mixx
  • Sphinn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati